SHS Athletics hosts Winter Sports Banquet

Coaches and athletes celebrate the conclusion of the 22-23 season

Girls Basketball stands on stage for their SMAA All-Academic Awards. Photo Credit: Bella McCall.

On Thursday, March 2, the annual Winter Sports Banquet took place in Sanford High School’s Performing Arts Center. The event brought together all winter sports teams for coaches to provide recaps of their seasons and hand out individual athlete awards.


Spartan Award: Lydia Doiron

Leadership Award: Audrey Coleman & Samantha Phillips

Spirit Award: Ali Long

Dedication Award: Ellie McGrath

Coaches Award: Maddie Osborne

Rookie of the Year: Jack Sevigny

SMAA First Team: Lydia Doiron, Audrey Coleman, Natalie Lam, Ali Long

SMAA Honorable Mention: Ellie McGrath, Maddie Osborne

SMAA All-Academic: Audrey Coleman, Natalie Lam, Maddie Osborne, Alexis Hayward, Samantha Phillips

Boys Basketball

Most Improved: Tyler Sevigny & Liam Gendron

Spartan Award: Tanner McCann

Most Valuable Player: Makai Bougie

SMAA Honorable Mention: Makai Bougie

SMAA All-Academic: Tanner McCann, Brady Adams, Alex Sevigny, Brady Adams, AJ Anderson, Jacob Toothaker, Lukas MacLean, Chase Cousens, Gavin Hebler, Max LaPointe

Girls Basketball

Most Improved: Shelby McLeod

Coaches Award: Riley Hebler

Defensive Player: Hailey Tarbox

Most Valuable Player: Julissa McBarron

SMAA First Team: Julissa McBarron

SMAA Second Team: Riley Hebler

SMAA All-Rookie Team: Sadie Sevigny

SMAA All Defensive Team: Riley Hebler

SMAA Coach of the Year: Rossie Kearson

McDonald’s All-Star Team: Riley Hebler

SMAA All-Academic: Shelby McLeod, Riley Hebler, Hailey Tarbox, Sadie Sevigny, Addie Fiandaca, Ariel Cormack, Kamryn Sanbord, Ava Hudson, Annalise Stimmell, Azline Maurais, Abigail Bouchard, Evelyn Cole, Kya Duprey, Gwenivere Fogarty, Ami Kane, Linda Rose Krol, Isabella McCall

Indoor Track

Most Improved: Sophie Therrien & Craig Grant

Coaches Awards: Blair Martin & Michael Cousineau

Most Valuable Athlete: Tucker Walker

SMAA Second Team: Landon Gosling & Tucker Walker

SMAA Third Team: Craig Grant

SMAA All-Academic: Michael Cousineau, Landon Gosling, Carter Buswell, Aiden Gagnon, Zachary Michienzi, Andrew Melvin


Most Improved: Amalia Fajardo

Coaches Award: Edwin Pease

SMAA All-Academic: Abbey Gifford


Most Improved: Angel Zea

Coaches Award: Connor Pickering

Spartan Award: Hayden Fuller

Most Valuable: James Blood & Canton Hill

SMAA All-Academic: Connor Pickering, Aiden Gendron, Kay Hessler (Mgr), Ailey Man (Mgr)

SMAA Wrestling has not had its final meeting for all-conference selection, which takes place on March 8.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s